Is there a better word than grateful?

Is there a better word than grateful? I don’t think the word truly encompasses how blessed, supported and cared about I feel at this very moment. This morning I woke up to see that my Aunty Darlean had started a GoFundMe page to raise money to support me in battling my cancer. https://www.gofundme.com/24hpe6t8 The goal was set for $20,000 an insane amount of money, that my broke Uni student bank account has never seen.

As mentioned in my previous post the odds of survival are 30% (although I believe they are much higher for me, or that I will definitely be in that 30%) but because of this it may be necessary for me to do alternate medicine after the surgery which is, of course, costly. I’ve had to stop working completely, and my Mum has reduced her hours at work to almost nothing to care for me. As positive as I am that I’ll beat this demon, it’s only logical to have a back-up plan in place, which I have accepted.

So if it comes down to it, which hopefully it will not, alternate medicine is my next option.

When I saw that the page had raised $500 this morning I was over the moon, I couldn’t believe people had raised $500 just for me. Now, 10 hours later, 232 people have donated and raised $20, 395! I’m in awe of the sheer generosity of my friends, family, and of strangers who don’t even know me but are sending their best wishes for me to get through this. I am so stunned and appreciative that I cannot even begin to express my gratitude. Not only have all the people that shared the post on Facebook and donated their hard earned money made me feel so loved and special tonight, but they have given me ANOTHER shot at kicking cancers ass by giving me another option. On top of all the daily messages of support and encouragement, all of this has made me feel incredibly empowered, which is something I cannot thank you all enough for.

If worse comes to worse I want to be remembered as someone who never gave up and fought until the end. There will never be a point where I say enough is enough, I’ll try new things, start new options and therapies or look for more alternatives for as long as I’m breathing and my heart is beating – and that has now been made possible thanks to all of your kind donations. I hope you all realise that this battle is not just me in the arena alone; this is a team effort and right now we are positive which means we are half way to winning.

As a clinical update: I had a PET scan on Wednesday to check for any active cancer . Although they aren’t expecting to find anything, they have to check just to be 100% sure. This is literally like my 20th PET scan in my life, so it was as boring and as run of the mill as going to the grocery shop for me. They gave me a valium so I slept through the whole thing. I haven’t heard any news back yet, but they may wait until Tuesday to let me know results. On Monday I have an MRI to have a look at the inside of my neck including the nerves and the tumour, basically so they can plan what they’re going to do when we get into the surgery room.

Also, special thank you to my step-Grandpa Anatole for sending me Matcha green tea’s in the mail and constantly updating my Dad with more tips and other ways to get as many antioxidants as possible. My body is definitely the most alkaline it ever has been, and as we know cancer cells cannot thrive in an alkaline environment, so we’re doing all the right things there.

 

Leave a Reply

