All things clinical trial and diet

So many of you may have seen the ‘cancer-fighting berry’ trial on the news last week found only in North-Queensland. It’s a new discovery that’s still in clinical trials and they have found a compound in the berry could kill head and neck tumours as well as melanomas. According to the doctor conducting the study “The compound works by three ways essentially: it kills the tumour cells directly, it cuts off the blood supply and it also activates the body’s own immune system to clean up the mess that’s left behind.”

Of course this sounds very magical and wonderful and seems like it’d cure cancer quicker than an anti-biotic cures the common cold. I really hope it does work, and it’s something I want to consider if the surgery fails. An oncologist has to recommend you, so I’m going to ask my doctor about it tomorrow and see what she thinks.

There’s also another clinical trial going around in whispers called immunotherapy. Essentially it is a treament that uses certain parts of a person’s immune system (a collection of organs, special cells and substances that help protect from infections and some other diseases) to fight cancer. Immunotherapies are thought to work by slowing the growth and spread of cancer cells, and by helping the immune system destroy existing cancer cells. It’s super expensive (something like $12,000 a dose) but if you’re accepted into the clinical trial it’s free because you’re their little hamster. This is also something I want to consider for the future, if needed. I’m keeping these trials on the back burner incase I need them afterwards, but at the moment I’m focussed on my surgery and then my recovery.

But something constructive I’m doing right now is changing my diet. I have never been one that was overly into junk food, I grew up with a strict dieting, healthy, gym junkie mother and I think I inherited that from her. I watch what I eat, but I’m not perfect, and admit to indulging in the occasional hotdog, lolly, chocolate or cake. I’ve also never been one to drink a lot of soft drink (but vanilla Coke was my weakness!) Admittedly I was a huge energy drink fan – but after radiotherapy I’ve been told I can never have carbonated drinks again meaning no sparkling wine, mineral water, soft drink or energy drinks – which is a blessing in disguise, I’m kind of forced to be healthy. 😉

I went to see a Chinese medicine lady yesterday who was crazy – no offence to anyone who has used Chinese medicine, or has been cured by it, but this lady was screaming at me “If you walk out of this office and get the operation you will die.” Not only that, she was 65 years old (and to her credit she looked about 30), her skin was great, and she stood up to do a high kick and little dance to prove her vitality and high energy levels. Her little office was in the back of a convenience store in Camperdown. Her theory was that Western medicine and practises such as chemotherapy, radiotherapy and surgery were all spreading the disease and making it worse, rather than helping. She said once you cut a cancer it splits into 3, which then splits into 5, and little arms stretch out spreading the disease. She also told me you have to eat strictly organic, never dye your hair, never wear makeup and only drink water that is high in PH levels. Now, as you can see in my last blog post, my decision was already made that I would do the surgery. So this lady telling me not to do the surgery and trust her completely with her $2000 plant based pills, was a little over the top. I was happy to do the herbs in conjunction with my Western medicine, but since that was not an option in her opinion as she told me “not to come back” if I had the surgery, that was the end of that.

What I did take away from this seriously strange experience was the benefits of eating healthy. I already had eliminated red meat months ago from my diet after reading about how meat can promote an acidic body where cancer can have a party and chill in your body forever happily, but I was still eating chicken. One thing to note, I was off meat maybe only a week and a half and I’d lost 5kg. If you’re looking to strip weight quickly, I’d recommend cutting out meat (if you can handle it) but make sure you monitor your iron levels and B12 levels – this can be done via a blood test referred by your GP – otherwise this may be counter productive. Also – first world problems NONE of my jeans fit me anymore :/ but I have to admit I am feeling much less bloated and more energetic. Of course there are many arguments that red meat IS good for you i.e. Paleo diet, so each to their own but personally I’m looking to alkaline my body, so the less acidic my food the better.

So at the moment I am no meat, no chicken, with lots of veggies and fruit. I have been having meat substitutes such as QUORN sausages and cold cuts and no joke it tastes the same as meat in my opinion.

I’ve also started drinking high PH level water. Basically Alkaline water has a higher pH level than regular drinking water. Because of this, some advocates of alkaline water believe it can neutralize the acid in your body. Normal drinking water is generally a neutral pH of 7. Alkaline water generally has a pH of 8 or 9, so again it’s all about making my body less acidic and therefore less attractive for cancer to thrive.

My ONE guilty pleasure I need to keep in my life is coffee. People argue that it’s acidic, but seriously I need to keep sane through all of this. 😉

I start the day with a shot of Chlorophyll on an empty stomach, as it has antioxidant properties and contains essential vitamins and nutrients needed for cardiovascular, muscular, and neural health.

If anything, I’m hoping that altering my diet to a more organic and plant based diet will help me recover quicker from the surgery and keep my cells healthy and cancer free.

At the moment I’m seeing my oncologist tomorrow, I have an MRI on Thursday (that costs a whopping $700 – it’s bulk billed for people with headaches but not for cancer patients…who knew?) and I’m waiting on a date for a PET scan. They’re using the MRI to have a look into my head and neck, to note the nerves that will be cut out and the margins around the tumour, and the PET scan is to just make sure there’s no active cancer anywhere else – which they don’t expect there to be. Following this I’m just waiting to hear back about when my surgery will be (at the moment it’s estimated to be around September the 8th, but if they can get me in sooner with a different surgeon they will do so.)

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Lyn Franklin says:

    Oh no! Does this mean NO chocolate? 😂😠

    Like

    1. Unfortunately! Haha :p

      Like

  2. Sue Hampton says:

    Hey Jess so glad you are looking into some alternative methods obviously after your operation. The diet is a great start Wayne’s brother had bladder cancer about 2 yrs ago and he has been under one of those Crazy chinese natural medicine clinic at Gladesville . He had radiation and chemo and researched after his treatment to see what other alternatives there were.
    Whatever he has prescribed for him along with diet has worked. He has a scan last week and is cancer .
    You have enormous support and love to get you through what is ahead of you. You are in our prayers constantly 💕💕💕

    Like

    1. Sue Hampton says:

      Meant to say cancer free after 2 yrs of chinese herbalist medicine

      Like

  3. Betty Page says:

    The way that you write is so level, balanced and easy to read – I especially like how you are explaining all the terms for those who have NFI about cancer terms or even what a blood cell does.

    I will go healthy (er) to support you and whenever youre thinking of bad food, visualise a healthy you and healthy world around yourself.

    It seems a no-brainer to accept you into the super expensive clinical trials and whatever other solutions may present themselves. Do not hesitate to ask me, us and everyone who knows you for help, good vibes and support because we love you and want to see you doing your thing again, well and happy, xx A.EO

    Like

  4. Betty Page says:

    Hi Lovely, when I try to Like the post below this one, titled ‘Here we go’, it tries to log me into WordPress – would you mind checking the setup if you can so I can Like and Share? (I know you have one or two other things on your mind so no bother at all if you don’t, just want you to know I’m an avid reader of your blog!!!!!!!) xeo

    Like

Leave a Reply

